End poverty in all its forms everywhere

Extreme poverty rates have fallen by more than half since 1990. While this is a remarkable achievement, one-in-five people in developing regions still live on less than $1.90 a day. Millions more make little more than this daily amount and are at risk of slipping back into extreme poverty.

Sustainable Development Goal 1 (SDG1) aims to eradicate extreme poverty by 2030.

The UN has defined 7 Targets and 14 Indicators for SDG 1.

Target 1.1: Eradicate extreme poverty.

Indicator 1.1.1 is the proportion of population below the international poverty line, by sex, age, employment status and geographical location (urban/rural).

Target 1.2: Reduce poverty by at least 50%.

Indicator 1.2.1 is the proportion of population living below the national poverty line.

Indicator 1.2.2 is the proportion of men, women and children of all ages living in poverty in all its dimensions according to national definitions.

Target 1.3: Implement social protection systems.

Indicator 1.3.1 is the proportion of population covered by social protection floors/systems, by sex, distinguishing children, unemployed persons, older persons, persons with disabilities, pregnant women, newborns, work-injury victims and the poor and the vulnerable.

Target 1.4: Equal rights to ownership, basic services, technology and economic resources.

Indicator 1.4.1 is the proportion of population living in households with access to basic services.

Indicator 1.4.2 is the proportion of total adult population with secure tenure rights to land, (a) with legally recognized documentation, and (b) who perceive their rights to land as secure, by sex and type of tenure.

Target 1.5: Build resilience to environmental, economic and social disasters.

Indicator 1.5.1 is the number of deaths, missing persons and directly affected persons attributed to disasters.

Indicator 1.5.2 is the direct economic loss attributed to disasters in relation to global gross domestic product (GDP).

Indicator 1.5.3 is the number of countries that adopt and implement national disaster risk reduction strategies in line with the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015–2030.

Indicator 1.5.4 is the proportion of local governments that adopt and implement local disaster risk reduction strategies in line with national disaster risk reduction strategies.

Target 1.a: Mobilisation of resources to end poverty.

Indicator 1.a.1 is the proportion of domestically generated resources allocated by the government directly to poverty reduction programmes.

Indicator 1.a.2 is the proportion of total government spending on essential services (education, health and social protection).

Target 1.B: Pro-poor public spending.

Indicators 1.b.1 Proportion of government recurrent and capital spending to sectors that disproportionately benefit women, the poor and vulnerable groups. Go to goal 2.

SSC/We support the Sustainable Development Goals